Alison Weir

Alison Weir ebooks

Alison Weir is a British author and historian who has written fifteen non-fiction and four fiction books. Born in London in 1951, she is one of the most successful female British historians.

Wier became interested in history as a child, and began training to be a history teacher. However, she didnít like many of the methods that were being taught, so left that career path. Instead, she worked as a civil servant, full-time parent, and private special-need educator before turning to writing.

When her first book, Britainís Royal Families, was published in 1989, Weir had already written versions of two other books that would be published later. One would become her second published book, The Six Wives of Henry VIII, in 1991. The other informed her 1999 non-fiction book, Eleanor of Aquitaine: By the Wrath of God, Queen of England.

It was during her research about Eleanor of Aquitaine that she decided to try her hand at fiction, feeling it would be liberating. Her first novel, Innocent Traitor, was published in 2006. She wrote two other novels: The Lady Elizabeth, published in 2008, and The Captive Queen, published in 2010.

Her popular histories of British royalty have made Weir a best-selling author. She has focused on the characters of strong historical women, something that has made her writing stand out in the genre. She is currently working on a further two novels, as well as a non-fiction book about Elizabeth of York, the first Tudor queen.

more authors


Literature Project  |  eBooks  |  Free eBooks  |  Authors  |  Directories  |  Terms of Use


We care about eBooks because we care about the environment.
Read an eBook and save a tree. You can help save our planet.

Copyright © 2000-2019 Literature Project. All Rights Reserved.