Beverly Lewis

Beverly Lewis ebooks

Beverly Lewis is best known for her novels which reflect her upbringing in the Amish community of Lancaster, Pennsylvania.

Lewis began writing when she was a child, but did not pursue a writing career until much later in life. Having worked as a teacher, she began writing for children. Her first publications came in magazines, and her first book was published in 1993.

In 1997, she moved to adult fiction. The Shunning, published that year, was the first book in her Heritage of Lancaster County trilogy. She based the novel on the life of her grandmother, who left the Old Order Mennonite community to marry a Bible College student.

The second book of the trilogy, The Confession, was also published in 1997, with the final book, The Reckoning, being published the following year. The trilogy was praised for its representation of Amish life, and quickly became a bestseller.

Since The Heritage of Lancaster County, Lewis has written six other series of novels. Her latest series, Home to Hickory Hollow, started in early 2012 with The Fiddler. The second book of the series, The Bridesmaid, will follow later in the year.

Lewisí Seasons of Grace, published in 2009 and 2010, earned her the Retailerís Choice Award as well as a Library Journalís Best Book award for The Missing. She has also earned five ECPA Gold Book Awards.

In addition to her 25 novels, Lewis has written over 60 childrenís books and a cookbook of Amish recipes.


more authors


Literature Project  |  eBooks  |  Free eBooks  |  Authors  |  Directories  |  Terms of Use


We care about eBooks because we care about the environment.
Read an eBook and save a tree. You can help save our planet.

Copyright © 2000-2019 Literature Project. All Rights Reserved.