Eve Bunting

Eve Bunting ebooks

Eve Bunting was born in Maghera, Ireland, in 1928. She is best known as the author of over 250 books, including picture books and novels.

Bunting attended Belfast’s Methodist College and Queen’s University before moving to Scotland with her husband. In 1958, Bunting and her family moved to the United States, where she still lives.

Bunting enrolled at Pasadena City College in 1959. After that, she took a creative writing course.

Bunting’s writing is primarily aimed at children and young adults. Her first book, The Two Giants, was published in 1971. The book is a retelling of the Irish folktale of Finn McCool. Bunting has identified herself as part of the Irish storytelling tradition.

In 1976, Bunting was awarded the Golden Kite Award for her book, One More Flight. She has also won an Edgar Award and a Caldecott Medal. Her books, including the Caldecott Medal-winning Smoky Night, frequently take on social issues.

Smoky Night, published in 1995, deals with the issue of racism and is about the Los Angeles riots. One Green Apple, published in 2006, is about a girl from an Arab country who moves to America. She recently tackled the issue of homelessness in her 2012 book, Fly Away Home.

In addition to her fiction and story books, she has also penned several non-fiction titles. These books, also aimed at children, cover such diverse topics as skateboards and sharks.


more authors


Literature Project  |  eBooks  |  Free eBooks  |  Authors  |  Directories  |  Terms of Use


We care about eBooks because we care about the environment.
Read an eBook and save a tree. You can help save our planet.

Copyright © 2000-2019 Literature Project. All Rights Reserved.