Joan Didion

Joan Didion ebooks

American author Joan Didion is known for her fiction and non-fiction writing. Born in 1934 in Sacramento, California, she began writing when she was still a child.

Didion worked at Vogue magazine for two years after getting a degree from University of California, Berkeley. While working at Vogue, she wrote her first novel, 1963ís Run, River. Slouching Towards Bethlehem, her collection of non-fiction pieces, including many that she wrote as a magazine writer, was published in 1968.

Didionís second novel, Play It As It Lays, was published in 1970. It was named one of Time magazineís Best English -language Novels from 1923 to 2005. It was adapted for film two years later, with Didion co-writing the screenplay with her husband. She has written three additional novels, A Book of Common Prayer, Democracy, and The Last Thing He Wanted.

In addition to fiction, Didion has also written a number of non-fiction books. Many of these books are based on her work as a journalist. Her 2006 book, The Year of Magical Thinking, was a non-fiction account of her experience of losing her husband. It won Didion a National Book Award for Nonfiction.

Didion was also granted the National Book Foundationís Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters in 2007. Among other awards, she has been granted honorary Doctor of Letters degrees from Harvard and Yale Universities.
Didion continues to write, with her most recent book being 2011ís Blue Nights. The memoir is a follow-up to The Year of Magical Thinking as well as her 2003 memoir, Where I Was From.


more authors


Literature Project  |  eBooks  |  Free eBooks  |  Authors  |  Directories  |  Terms of Use


We care about eBooks because we care about the environment.
Read an eBook and save a tree. You can help save our planet.

Copyright © 2000-2019 Literature Project. All Rights Reserved.